RSX ohm test points

PS3 guides and tutorials.

Re: RSX ohm test points

Postby we3dm4n » Fri Aug 23, 2013 3:07 pm

Yeah thats right ... searching for those socket for 360 and ps3 .. no chance until now, i know they are very expensive but I want it :)
User avatar
we3dm4n
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 502
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:59 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 78 times
Set up: Scotle IR360 Pro V3 3in1

Re: RSX ohm test points

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: RSX ohm test points

Postby NorcalReballer » Fri Aug 23, 2013 5:15 pm

I 'very' rarely ever kill a chip if ever. If you guys keep killing them(or even feel you need to test) there's something wrong IMHO. I don't even buy them anymore really. I won't even mess with GLOD if its not the hdd either. The socket setup would be sweet but they are very expensive(I looked into it about 1k) and if you almost never kill chips there's no need. Wish I could help more.
NorcalReballer
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:50 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Set up: Jovy re8500, JBC cd-1bb, xtronic 4000, custom DIY station(in the works)

Re: RSX ohm test points

Postby coorva » Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:04 am

i wish i had your luck Norcal,,so far i have had one good reball out of 20 and attaching new chips am 5 for 5,,the rest have been GLOD,,360 on the other hand all reballs 100%,,and heres my toy i use to reball,,
[url=http://postimg.org/image/87g607vht/][img]http://s16.postimg.org/87g607vht/photo1.jpg[/img][/url]
User avatar
coorva
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:45 am
Location: Ontario Canada
National Flag:
Canada
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 41 times
Set up: Scotle IR PRO SC 2 in 1 (Hot air and IR).

Re: RSX ohm test points

Postby NorcalReballer » Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:18 pm

Great example where this test is bogus. You're either killing them when you take the chip off or with the hotplate BUT have you heard of the power trick thing from CVX? Since that thread was put up on CVX I've literally only had 2 GLOD and it worked on both no returns. Goes against any reason but it can work and it does.
NorcalReballer
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 10:50 pm
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 72 times
Set up: Jovy re8500, JBC cd-1bb, xtronic 4000, custom DIY station(in the works)

Re: RSX ohm test points

Postby coorva » Sun Aug 25, 2013 11:46 am

is that the off and on trick for about 6 hours after reattaching,,yea been there with no luck,,
User avatar
coorva
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Mar 13, 2013 11:45 am
Location: Ontario Canada
National Flag:
Canada
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 41 times
Set up: Scotle IR PRO SC 2 in 1 (Hot air and IR).

Re: RSX ohm test points

Postby Cracked solder » Tue Mar 18, 2014 2:02 pm

[quote="jamesfreddie"][quote="coorva"]i have done enough of these now to say even if the chip looks good doesnt mean it is,,did a reball on one reattached it and GLOD or YLOD,,pulled it put a replacement one that i got online and booted right away,,so they must have a way to test these chips before they sell them,,if only they shared there secret :rolleyes:[/quote]

Its no secret how they do it.

I know why don't you?

Its a socket type lever thing which just holds the chip to the board they make sure it gives a display and send it on its way. :D

I will see if i can find the video for you ;)[/quote]
Ever find that video? I'm curious
Cracked solder
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2013 2:59 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: RSX ohm test points

Postby s4charged » Mon May 12, 2014 8:46 pm

Hello everyone,

Just thought I'd share some info, did a few reballs over the weekend, 2 phat ps3s, and 1 ps3 slim.

They all worked fine. Just wanted to share the OHMS on each GPU I reattached.

On the ps3 phat GPUs one OHM'd at 2.2. The other at 2.6.

The Ps3 slim gpu (bigger diode slim gpu, not super tiny diode) OHM'd at 3.6. To my surprise it worked.

I've always thought anything from 1.0 to 2.5 is considered good, I've always heard that too high is bad as well. Guess you never really know.
s4charged
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:31 pm
Location: California
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 36 times
Been thanked: 55 times
Set up: Scotle IR360 Pro V3, Scotle IR Pro SC V4, Aoyue 968+, home depot heat gun :)

Re: RSX ohm test points

Postby jamesfreddie » Tue May 13, 2014 8:21 am

[quote="Cracked solder"][quote="jamesfreddie"][quote="coorva"]i have done enough of these now to say even if the chip looks good doesnt mean it is,,did a reball on one reattached it and GLOD or YLOD,,pulled it put a replacement one that i got online and booted right away,,so they must have a way to test these chips before they sell them,,if only they shared there secret :rolleyes:[/quote]

Its no secret how they do it.

I know why don't you?

Its a socket type lever thing which just holds the chip to the board they make sure it gives a display and send it on its way. :D

I will see if i can find the video for you ;)[/quote]
Ever find that video? I'm curious[/quote]

Can't remember where the video was now :( Well I know it was on youtube :P

I doubt you would want to buy one anyway at a few hundred $$ each :o

At the moment I am working on a "little" project with a buddy in making a test socket which may be external to the system to let you test chips before seating them, however this is going to take a good while as we need to "print" the entire thing with a 3D printer which needs building.
jamesfreddie
Banned
Banned
 
Posts: 914
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:28 pm
Location: Waltham Abbey, Essex, England
National Flag:
Great Britain
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 115 times
Set up: Honton R392 Atten 858D, Aoyue 968, T8280, SCOTLE HT-80, WEP 942 Aoyue 2901 Clone

Re: RSX ohm test points

Postby skylinenismo » Mon May 26, 2014 11:12 pm

well imho i used to religiously check ohms but then after a good amount of them didn't work even though they ohm'd "ok" and had no spit or blistering and visa versa :facepalm: . I just go with the rule of if it looks good use it :lol:
User avatar
skylinenismo
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: California
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 124 times
Been thanked: 53 times
Set up: 2Aoyue H/Air, Puhui T-8280 & Y.Y. 946D LCD hot plate / Hakko FA-430

Re: RSX ohm test points

Postby drwcifer » Wed May 28, 2014 6:38 pm

So, is a chip with .2 ohms bad or is it really not worth checking
drwcifer
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:25 pm
Location: Kansas
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Set up: Puhui T-8280 AOYUE 968A+ Rework Station

PreviousNext

Return to PS3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests