Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

All Galaxy Tab repairs to be discussed here regardless of model.

Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Postby Tuvix » Sat Mar 28, 2015 1:50 pm

Hello to all,
I'm getting crazy, cause I can't locate where is this Intel atom Cpu, I have locate all the other chips (Ram, Ssd, etc.)
Here some pictures of the tablet :
Image
Image
Image

Thanks for any help
Tuvix
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Progress to next rank:
30%
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:12 pm
Location: Bouee
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Set up: 3 Zone Rework

Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Postby D4Rk » Sat Mar 28, 2015 5:49 pm

I would think it would be the big chip in the middle of the board.
Cant be 100% certain on my part though.
User avatar
D4Rk
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:15 pm
Location: Usa
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 144 times
Set up: My hands

Re: Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Postby Tuvix » Sat Mar 28, 2015 7:35 pm

D4Rk wrote:I would think it would be the big chip in the middle of the board.
Cant be 100% certain on my part though.


Thanks for the suggestion, but this chip is the 2Gb ram :
Image

I'm Prety sure that the CPU/GPU (Intel Atom) is not Located on the motherboard, I have checked al bga chips one by one.
This is driving me Crazy ...
Tuvix
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Progress to next rank:
30%
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:12 pm
Location: Bouee
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Set up: 3 Zone Rework

Re: Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Postby Deus » Sat Mar 28, 2015 7:59 pm

That's a memorychip.
Photo's are indeed not sharp enought to see what's on it.

Did you check botttom of pcb?
Deus
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Postby Tuvix » Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:32 pm

Deusjevoo wrote:That's a memorychip.
Photo's are indeed not sharp enought to see what's on it.

Did you check botttom of pcb?


Yes, bottom side is clean, not a single component !
It seems that I'm stuck with this ... Lol can't find the CPU
Tuvix
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Progress to next rank:
30%
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:12 pm
Location: Bouee
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Set up: 3 Zone Rework

Re: Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Postby Tuvix » Sat Mar 28, 2015 9:44 pm

Ok, here 5 close Snaps !
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

But like I said, I'm pretty sure that CPU is not there, but where ?
Tuvix
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Progress to next rank:
30%
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:12 pm
Location: Bouee
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Set up: 3 Zone Rework

Re: Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Postby D4Rk » Sun Mar 29, 2015 1:37 am

Whats under that heat shield thats beneath the ear jack cable?
User avatar
D4Rk
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 828
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:15 pm
Location: Usa
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 93 times
Been thanked: 144 times
Set up: My hands

Re: Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Postby Tuvix » Sun Mar 29, 2015 3:01 pm

D4Rk wrote:Whats under that heat shield thats beneath the ear jack cable?


It's for sure Not The Intel Atom :
Image

Now it's for sure that the CPU is not on the mobo, only last possibility is the rest of the chassis, but I can't dismantle it more.
Tuvix
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Progress to next rank:
30%
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:12 pm
Location: Bouee
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Set up: 3 Zone Rework

Re: Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Postby koubik » Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:50 pm

There must be another board under chassis for sure.You can see ribbon going from SUB to MAIN board.
User avatar
koubik
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 286
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 6:13 pm
Location: Greece
National Flag:
Greece
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Set up: Scotle IR360 PRO V3

Re: Help Finding Cpu on Ativ Tab 3

Postby Tuvix » Sun Mar 29, 2015 10:38 pm

koubik wrote:There must be another board under chassis for sure.You can see ribbon going from SUB to MAIN board.

This is what i think also, but it's impossible to dismantle the rest, it's firmly attached to the chassis.
Image

There is something that is not clear, why 3 flat cables going to the lcd ?
Normally we should have 1 for Lcd data/power a second for the touch screen, but the third (this ffc cable marked Sub/Main) I don't get it.
I have ordered a kit to open this kind of stuff, but it's from china, it will take a month to arrive.
what a mystery
Tuvix
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Progress to next rank:
30%
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 3:12 pm
Location: Bouee
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Set up: 3 Zone Rework

Next

Return to Galaxy Tab Repairs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest