Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Repair forum for T.V's and Monitors only.

Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Postby matic_s » Mon May 16, 2016 7:57 pm

I have here a Samsung LE40M71B LCD TV with red lines on the screen. It also takes a few seconds to change the picture on the screen.

Image

I'm leaning towards a faulty T-CON board 400WHC8LV1.3

Image

On google I found that this is very common issue with this T-CON board. In most cases should be bad solder joint(s) on the main Altera BGA EP1S30F780C8N.
I reballed it, but it is exactly the same issue. So I think that BGA is dead and need to be replaced. I can order brand new BGA, but the question is whether this chip is programmed or not?
In short can I replace this BGA with brand new one without programming it?

Here are datasheet: click

Here are few google results:
click
click
click

What do you think guys?
User avatar
matic_s
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Slovenia, EU
National Flag:
Slovenia
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Set up: Achi IR PRO SC V3, Atten 850B, Hameg HM507

Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Postby BGA_netherlands » Sat May 21, 2016 5:38 pm

maybe better buy from ebay complete t-board? I see some boards for 20-30 dollar pcs
BGA_netherlands
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:33 am
Location: Netherlands
National Flag:
Netherlands
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 10 times
Set up: 2x Seamark R5830 - Ecocell oven - 2x JBC CD-2 - Honton Hotplate - BOFA filter

Re: Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Postby matic_s » Sun May 22, 2016 2:33 pm

BGA_netherlands wrote:maybe better buy from ebay complete t-board? I see some boards for 20-30 dollar pcs


Thanks for reply, but I can't find this particular board anywhere.

I asked someone else about it, and he said that he is 100% sure that the BGA is not programmed, but it is possible the chip has some kind of ID code (serial code). If it has this ID code this code is also written in the FLASH chip (another small Altera BGA on the board). So it is possible this BGA is SW paired with FLASH chip, but he is not sure about it.

I ordered new BGA anywhay.
User avatar
matic_s
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Slovenia, EU
National Flag:
Slovenia
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Set up: Achi IR PRO SC V3, Atten 850B, Hameg HM507

Re: Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Postby matic_s » Sat Jun 04, 2016 9:28 pm

New BGA has arrived.
I was reballed it with leaded solder balls and replaced it. Now it is exactly the same issue :facepalm: .

Image Image
User avatar
matic_s
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Slovenia, EU
National Flag:
Slovenia
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Set up: Achi IR PRO SC V3, Atten 850B, Hameg HM507

Re: Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Postby striderstn » Wed Jun 22, 2016 11:14 am

That is a screen failure
striderstn
Loyal Member
Loyal Member
Progress to next rank:
40%
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:47 pm
Location: England
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Postby matic_s » Thu Jun 23, 2016 6:09 pm

Yes, I suspect that, because it wasn't the bad BGA.
Thanks.
User avatar
matic_s
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Slovenia, EU
National Flag:
Slovenia
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Set up: Achi IR PRO SC V3, Atten 850B, Hameg HM507

Re: Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Postby striderstn » Fri Jun 24, 2016 6:28 pm

matic_s wrote:Yes, I suspect that, because it wasn't the bad BGA.
Thanks.


Seen it many many times

I am one of the veterans from badcaps.net :)
striderstn
Loyal Member
Loyal Member
Progress to next rank:
40%
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 4:47 pm
Location: England
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Postby Deus » Fri Jun 24, 2016 9:26 pm

Dunno if it's a BGA (Altera) or screen problem like striderstn says.

matic_s wrote:Yes, I suspect that, because it wasn't the bad BGA.
Thanks.


matic_s wrote:I asked someone else about it, and he said that he is 100% sure that the BGA is not programmed, but it is possible the chip has some kind of ID code (serial code). If it has this ID code this code is also written in the FLASH chip (another small Altera BGA on the board). So it is possible this BGA is SW paired with FLASH chip, but he is not sure about it.
I ordered new BGA anywhay.


Altera Stratix are FPGA chips.
The software for it is in a flash memory, switching on the unit that software configures the FPGA for it's task.
In this case probably video processing (FPGA's can do pretty powerfull things).

LIke that "someone" told you, it indeed probably needs some kind of ID in it to communicate with the flash memory.
They're tied togethter for security reasons.
Think it could even be a differend ID per board.

Buying a new one from Altera or whaterver source you just get an empty chip without that ID in it.
It won't be configured on boot and stays empty or useless.

If you wanna give it another try with the original bga:
Did you examine the back of the board? Look at the vias if they have solder in it.
Some vias are pretty close to the pads and not covered with solder mask.
Watch out not to use to much flux, they can get shorted.
Maybe cover the vias with solder mask (before soldering a chip back of course)?

Best bet probably is try to find a T-con board like BGA_netherlands said.
Deus
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Postby matic_s » Mon Jun 27, 2016 8:23 pm

striderstn wrote:
matic_s wrote:Yes, I suspect that, because it wasn't the bad BGA.
Thanks.


Seen it many many times

I am one of the veterans from badcaps.net :)


I saw that kind of issue the first time now.
In my experience the lines goes through full width of the display if the LCD panel goes bad.
Thanks, I take note of.
User avatar
matic_s
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Slovenia, EU
National Flag:
Slovenia
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Set up: Achi IR PRO SC V3, Atten 850B, Hameg HM507

Re: Samsung LCD TV vertical red lines

Postby matic_s » Mon Jun 27, 2016 9:10 pm

Deusjevoo wrote:LIke that "someone" told you, it indeed probably needs some kind of ID in it to communicate with the flash memory.
They're tied togethter for security reasons.
Think it could even be a differend ID per board.

Buying a new one from Altera or whaterver source you just get an empty chip without that ID in it.
It won't be configured on boot and stays empty or useless.


I'm pretty sure that the issue have to be different after swap the BGA if the problem was with this ID code. Like no picture or something else, but definately not exactly the same.
I'm also pretty sure that this particular BGA haven't any ID code in it, no matter if it is original from Altera or not. If it had it would be a different issue, like I said.

Deusjevoo wrote:If you wanna give it another try with the original bga:
Did you examine the back of the board? Look at the vias if they have solder in it.
Some vias are pretty close to the pads and not covered with solder mask.
Watch out not to use to much flux, they can get shorted.
Maybe cover the vias with solder mask (before soldering a chip back of course)?

Best bet probably is try to find a T-con board like BGA_netherlands said.


No, there aren't any vias filled with solder after reball.
I'm also pretty sure it is not problem in bad / poor BGA soldering.


It is bad LCD panel in this case like @striderstn said.
I tried to power on the TV without T-CON board now and it was black screen (without picture) with those red lines, so it is definitely bad LCD panel.

Anyway thanks for the reply.
User avatar
matic_s
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Slovenia, EU
National Flag:
Slovenia
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Set up: Achi IR PRO SC V3, Atten 850B, Hameg HM507


Return to T.V's and Monitors

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest