grab 5v (not standby) off ps4 pro mobo/psu

PS4 guides and tutorials.

grab 5v (not standby) off ps4 pro mobo/psu

Postby sepiah37 » Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:20 am

hi guys,

i would like to know the best spot to grab 5v (no 5v standby, not from usb port) off a ps4 pro's psu or mobo.

can someone help?

kind regards
User avatar
sepiah37
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
60%
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:17 am
Location: Brussels
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

grab 5v (not standby) off ps4 pro mobo/psu

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: grab 5v (not standby) off ps4 pro mobo/psu

Postby matic_s » Mon Jul 24, 2017 8:32 am

Hello!

How much current or power do you need on 5V line?
User avatar
matic_s
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Slovenia, EU
National Flag:
Slovenia
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 82 times
Set up: Achi IR PRO SC V3, Atten 850B, Hameg HM507

Re: grab 5v (not standby) off ps4 pro mobo/psu

Postby sepiah37 » Tue Jul 25, 2017 6:58 am

hi,

i would like to power up a aqua computer aquaero 5 pro fan control center, a aquastream ultimate water pump and six 120mm fans.

the aquaero 5 pro needs 12v and 5v to work (12v is easy to get from psu). the 5v are used to power up the aquaero's display, and maybe the connected fans. i don't think i would need that much power on the 5v line. but i honestly can't tell exactly how much i actually will need.

i guess the odd-powercable/connector on mobo should do it, but it's a tiny ribbon cable. don't know if this is going to work?
User avatar
sepiah37
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
60%
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:17 am
Location: Brussels
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: grab 5v (not standby) off ps4 pro mobo/psu

Postby matic_s » Thu Jul 27, 2017 7:54 pm

I think it is no way to power it from PS4. The PS4 power supply is not powerful enough to power the PS4 and aqua computer aquaero 5 at the same time.
I think it is only way to use another power supply to power it.

If you want to enable the power supply for aqua computer aquaero 5 only when the PS4 is turned on you can grab only enable signal from PS4 which could enable or disable external power supply for aqua computer aquaero 5.

If you want to do it, you should build a simple electronic circuit.
User avatar
matic_s
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Slovenia, EU
National Flag:
Slovenia
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 82 times
Set up: Achi IR PRO SC V3, Atten 850B, Hameg HM507

Re: grab 5v (not standby) off ps4 pro mobo/psu

Postby sepiah37 » Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:56 am

the ps4 pro psu should be powerful enough:

it can deliver max. 289w (https://de.ifixit.com/Teardown/PlayStation+4+Pro+Teardown/72946#s147054)
in this video you see a comparison of all three ps4 models with different usage (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0wNoCnPxTp4&feature=youtu.be&t=3m21s)

max 289w output - 155w during 4k gaming = 134w left.
even if the ps4 pro is going to need more power in the future (more challenging games, psvr usage ...), there will be still around 134w left for watercooling pump, leds and so on.
User avatar
sepiah37
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
60%
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:17 am
Location: Brussels
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: grab 5v (not standby) off ps4 pro mobo/psu

Postby gkop » Mon Jul 31, 2017 4:21 am

Im not certain on your wattage assumptions, but i think you could be missing some details; its not normal for console manufacturers to double down on power availability over required consumption. Typically they supply just enough to get by with a little padding for surges. My initial thought is that the watts rating that you quoted is just for the apu and does not include any other peripheral power requirements. I would recommend double checking your source info for consumption requirements.

However, if you just need a recommendation for where to find 5v thats not on standby, then one location that comes to mind is the blueray player. It should have a 5v rail that is not engaged in standby. As to how many amps it can handle...not sure.
gkop
Valued Member
Valued Member
Progress to next rank:
50%
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 8:40 pm
Location: Georgia
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Set up: ACHI IR6500 Modded 3500w, Hammer-Smash


Return to PS4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest