RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Forum for all DIY topics.

RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Postby nyxynyx » Tue Nov 15, 2016 6:35 pm

Hi, I am trying to control the Altec PC410 using RS232 (pins 8, 9, 10). Where can we find a list of serial commands that we can use to communicate with the PC410 unit?
nyxynyx
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
40%
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: Pluto
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Postby matic_s » Tue Nov 15, 2016 9:17 pm

You need to connect this three communication pins of PC410 to RS232 port, and then use software on the computer to control the PC410.

pin 8 of PC410 -> pin 5 of RS232 (GND)
pin 9 of PC410 -> pin 3 of RS232 (TXD)
pin 10 of PC410 -> pin 2 of RS232 (RXD)

RS-232 pinout

Software for computer is awailable here.
User avatar
matic_s
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 488
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 9:14 pm
Location: Slovenia, EU
National Flag:
Slovenia
Has thanked: 26 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Set up: Achi IR PRO SC V3, Atten 850B, Hameg HM507

Re: RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Postby code0102stinks » Wed Nov 16, 2016 6:19 am

Agree with using the Bauer software, but the pin assignments by matic_s are incorrect for the PC410 to communicate properly.
Pins 9 and 10 need to swapped. Transmit of the PC410 should be connected to Receive of the RS232 and Receive of the PC410 needs
to be connected to Transmit of the RS232 for proper bi-directional communication.
code0102stinks
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:18 pm
Location: WA, US
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 232 times
Set up: DIY Hot Air Top Heater and Nozzle. Modded T8280 Preheater

Re: RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Postby nyxynyx » Wed Nov 16, 2016 9:33 pm

Thanks for the link to the software.

I am using the PC410 as a PID controller to drive an SSR to control the heating of a process, so I am not using it for a rework oven. However I need to communicate with the PC410 via RS232 using a software I have written.

Are the serial commands published anywhere?

If not, are there any recommendations for a PID controller that accepts k-type thermocouple as the input, and can communicate with a computer via RS232?
nyxynyx
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
40%
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: Pluto
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Postby code0102stinks » Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:54 pm

I don't know anything about writing software, but e "maybe the 232Analyzer" shareware program on this page might help you identify
the commands. IDK. Scroll down to step 3. There is a download link.
https://www.commfront.com/pages/3-easy- ... 32-devices

What are you trying to do with software that Bauer and similar won't do?
code0102stinks
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:18 pm
Location: WA, US
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 232 times
Set up: DIY Hot Air Top Heater and Nozzle. Modded T8280 Preheater

Re: RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Postby nyxynyx » Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:08 pm

I believe the temperature control part of my software does the same thing to the controller as Bauer's software. It's just that my software ties in several other hardware together into a single control interface, which loads its own programs/recipes that controls all these different hardware and runs it in the click on a button.

Will give the 232 analyzer a try, thanks for the tip.
nyxynyx
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
40%
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: Pluto
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Postby nyxynyx » Sat Nov 19, 2016 12:02 am

I tried connecting the PC410 to a Windows computer running Bauer using a USB-DB9 cable and connecting the DB9 end to the respective terminals behind PC410. However when I start the Bauer BGA Systems v3.0 software and click Start/Stop, I get the error "Missing connection with Seria Port - Check it now".

Have anyone encountered this problem before?
nyxynyx
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
40%
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: Pluto
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Re: RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Postby code0102stinks » Sat Nov 19, 2016 1:46 am

Have you used this USB-DB9 adapter before with another device? Or you just bought it? The first usb to serial I bought didn't work. A friend
suggested buying one with a FTDI chipset because they had a better chance of compatibility. Never had a problem after that. And did you
hook Transfer to Receive and Receive to Transfer like I posted before? I don't think it gives the error message you have when it's backwards,
just checking anyway. I always ran mine on my Windows 7 laptop. Don't know about Win 8 or 10.
Also, has that PC410 been hooked up and communicated prior to this? Make sure it's not a bottom hot air controller for a 3-zone. They don't
have RS232.
code0102stinks
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:18 pm
Location: WA, US
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 232 times
Set up: DIY Hot Air Top Heater and Nozzle. Modded T8280 Preheater

Re: RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Postby Deus » Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:11 am

Is the USB serial port set to port 1? As that is the only port number a pc410 will work/communicate with.
Also, to be able to write to pc410 without any errors you have to make sure that RS232 is fully disable in your pc/motherboard bios.
Although the rs232 connector disappeared from motherboards for over a decade most still have the necessary electronics for it.
If you don't disable the port in bios it might result in incorrect values beeing written to or interpreted by the pc410.
Deus
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 4:18 pm
Has thanked: 13 times
Been thanked: 136 times

Re: RS232 Serial Commands for PC410

Postby nyxynyx » Mon Nov 21, 2016 2:39 am

How can I set the USB serial port to port 1? Currently it is COM4.

I am using a USB-to-RS232 adapter that uses the FTDI chipset. RS232 is disabled in the BIOS.
nyxynyx
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
40%
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 6:30 pm
Location: Pluto
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Next

Return to DIY Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest