How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Rework and Rework Station guides and tutorials.

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Postby Sanquiz » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:33 am

Hello, i just get a HR460C scotle and i see the conector is for Europa, right now i have a 220V that usually is used for washing machine, this outlet can work with my machine? the HR460C is Phase-Neutral-Phase?
Thanks in advance.
Sanquiz
Dedicated Member
Dedicated Member
Progress to next rank:
30%
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:23 am
Location: Venezuela
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time
Set up: HR460C

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Sponsor

Sponsor
 

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Postby Coleman » Thu Nov 07, 2013 12:19 pm

Yes it can. Just check the machines specs and see how many amps it draws and make sure your breaker can support it.
Coleman
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:08 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
National Flag:
Canada
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 284 times
Set up: Scotle IR360 PRO V1

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Postby ZeRo_Co0l_Modz » Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:40 pm

for Scotle ir 6000 v5 220 model is this what i need to do to get it up an running
ZeRo_Co0l_Modz
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
20%
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:06 am
Location: North Carolina
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Set up: dead t8280

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Postby Coleman » Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:43 pm

Yes if you don't want to use a step up/down converter.
Coleman
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 3:08 am
Location: Ontario, Canada
National Flag:
Canada
Has thanked: 117 times
Been thanked: 284 times
Set up: Scotle IR360 PRO V1

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Postby code0102stinks » Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:37 pm

[quote="ZeRo_Co0l_Modz"]for Scotle ir 6000 v5 220 model is this what i need to do to get it up an running[/quote]

If you have a 220vac outlet to use, or the resources to install or have one installed for your machine, do that rather than
using a step up transformer. Transformer would be my last resort.
code0102stinks
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:18 pm
Location: WA, US
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 232 times
Set up: DIY Hot Air Top Heater and Nozzle. Modded T8280 Preheater

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Postby ZeRo_Co0l_Modz » Sun Feb 23, 2014 8:49 pm

how to wire ir 6000 v5 america
[url=http://postimg.org/image/78z0icvbj/][img]http://s27.postimg.org/78z0icvbj/IMG_0500.jpg[/img][/url]

[url=http://postimg.org/image/sqev3gbyn/][img]http://s27.postimg.org/sqev3gbyn/IMG_0501.jpg[/img][/url]

[url=http://postimg.org/image/yc1a7icnj/][img]http://s27.postimg.org/yc1a7icnj/IMG_0502.jpg[/img][/url]
ZeRo_Co0l_Modz
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
20%
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:06 am
Location: North Carolina
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Set up: dead t8280

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Postby code0102stinks » Mon Feb 24, 2014 5:04 am

@ZeRo_CoOl_Modz - You can use the method Coleman posted at the top of this page of the thread on how to identify which wire
is earth/ground.

"If you set your meter to continuity and touch the ground wire and a screw on the machine it will give you a reading or beep. The 2 live wires won't give a reading."

In your pics you posted there is brown, blue, and green wire. Using continuity tester, I think you will find that the green wire is grounding the case. Both the brown
and blue should NOT be connected to ground, like Coleman mentioned. Verify they have no continuity with the case.
If you scroll down and look at the regional wire color codes on this link, you will see BROWN most likely is the 220 lead, BLUE is the neutral, and GREEN the ground.
Since this is made in China, you need to verify with continuity tests.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electrical_wiring

So, if those assignments are all true, then GREEN would go to your ground terminal, BROWN to either of the 110vac terminals, and BLUE to the other 110vac
terminal. Here is a quick pic made from your pics to show connections.

The "add image to post" in the forum seems to be not working right. I just changed it to a pasted link. Pics in the other person's post didn't function either.
http://postimg.org/image/b1l8upvbd/
Last edited by code0102stinks on Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
code0102stinks
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 688
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 5:18 pm
Location: WA, US
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 78 times
Been thanked: 232 times
Set up: DIY Hot Air Top Heater and Nozzle. Modded T8280 Preheater

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Postby ZeRo_Co0l_Modz » Wed Feb 26, 2014 11:30 pm

Thank you it work out very well
ZeRo_Co0l_Modz
New Member
New Member
Progress to next rank:
20%
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 10:06 am
Location: North Carolina
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 1 time
Set up: dead t8280

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Postby Jasondk2 » Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:41 pm

Hello, this is my first post and I'm sure there will be many others but this is most important atm so I can see what I need to do to get setup. I am new to this type of rework and am looking at getting a Scotle ir6000 and live in us/ North America. I didn't know if it will run on 240v. Everyone is talking about 220, I know there are transformers but that is more than I can dish out ATM... My idea is to run 12g wire to its own 15a 240v breaker. I have read the power rating for it is AC220V±10%/AC110V±10% 50/60Hz

So the + would put it at 242v which is right at 240 but dosent leave room for fluctuation?

Any help would be greatly appreciated...
Also if anyone can point me to any awesome guides on the process or lift and reattach.

Thanks in advance!
Jasondk2
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: US
National Flag:
United States of America
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 6 times
Set up: Scotle IR6000

Re: How To Wire A BGA Rework Machine For North America

Postby BGA Rework Store » Sat Mar 22, 2014 9:25 pm

Your be fine on a 240v 15amp breaker I know a lot of U.S guys talk about the socket in the bathroom running 15amps and 220/240v . So your Idea of a 15amp 240v breaker will be 100% spot on
User avatar
BGA Rework Store
VIP Member
VIP Member
 
Posts: 1517
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2012 8:47 pm
Location: North london
National Flag:
Great Britain
Has thanked: 217 times
Been thanked: 413 times
Set up: T8280 and ayoue 968 scotle ir6000 pr1000 lcd separator

PreviousNext

Return to Rework/Station Guides

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest